Last week we launched SALT Trivia to test your knowledge on state and local taxes. Thank you to everyone who participated!

Last Week’s Question:
Which state was the first to enact a general state sales tax?

The Answer:
Mississippi. Although a few states had some sales tax features prior to that date, Mississippi was the first state to enact a state sales tax in 1932.

Within a few years, more than half the states had adopted sales taxes. Currently, 45 states, including the District of Columbia, have some type of general sales tax in force. Alaska, Delaware, Montana, New Hampshire, and Oregon are the only states that have no general sales tax.

Keep an eye out for our next trivia question on Wednesday!